Best Non Toxic Body Cream and Body Lotion (2026): Why the Jar Matters as Much as the Label
The 30 Second Summary
- Body lotion is the biggest dose in your bathroom. You leave about 7.8 grams a day on most of your skin, five times the amount of a face cream on 28 times the area.
- Oil pulls chemicals out of plastic. In a 2023 study, oily extracts of every cosmetic plastic tested blocked a hormone receptor in lab cells, and water based extracts did not. A lotion carries oil, and a butter is all oil.
- Almost every lotion comes in plastic. Of 37 lotions and creams made with water, only Weleda's Skin Food Body Butter came in glass, and it passes. Many clean formulas were held back by their bottles.
- Balms and butters in glass or steel are the other answer. With no water, they need no preservative, and the jar gives nothing to the oil.
- Read the label for parabens, formaldehyde releasers, siloxanes and unnamed fragrance. Primally Pure, Hearth & Homestead, Badger and Meow Meow Tweet and Weleda Skin Food Body Butter all pass.
- Best overall: Primally Pure Body Butter, glass jar, every scent named.
- Unscented, most reviewed: Hearth & Homestead Whipped Tallow Balm, four ingredients in glass.
- Budget: Badger Balm Unscented, olive oil and beeswax in a steel tin.
- Vegan: Meow Meow Tweet Skin Cream, plant butters in glass.
- Lotion texture: Weleda Skin Food Body Butter, a water based cream in glass.
Most of what you put on your skin is rinsed off within minutes. Body lotion is the exception: you spread it over most of your body, often twice a day, and leave all of it there. That makes it the largest leave on dose in the bathroom, larger than face cream, makeup and sunscreen on an ordinary day.
It is also the product most likely to sit in the wrong container. A lotion is an emulsion of water and oil, and oil is what pulls chemicals out of plastic. We read the full ingredient list and checked the container, lawsuits and recalls for 54 body lotions, creams, butters and balms from 22 brands. The formulas were often fine. The bottles were the problem.
Why body lotion is the biggest dose
The European Commission's Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety sets the standard amounts that safety assessors must assume for each kind of cosmetic. For body lotion it assumes 7.82 grams a day, spread over 15,670 square centimeters of skin, with all of it left on. For face cream it is 1.54 grams over 565 square centimeters. Shower gel, at 18.67 grams, sounds larger, but the committee assumes only about one percent of it stays on the skin.
Daily amounts left on the skin that European safety assessments assume. Body lotion also covers about 28 times the area of a face cream. SCCS Notes of Guidance, 12th revision, 2023.
Skin absorbs far less than the gut, so none of this makes a lotion dangerous by itself. What it does is multiply whatever is in it. A preservative or a trace contaminant that would be trivial in a face cream is five times the amount on 28 times the skin in a body lotion, every day for years.
Oil pulls chemicals out of plastic
Almost everything that leaches out of a plastic, from plasticizers to antioxidants and their breakdown products, dissolves in fat rather than in water. In 2023 a French team stored 11 common cosmetic packaging plastics with six test liquids for a month at 50°C. They identified 165 plastic associated chemicals, 43 of them endocrine disruptors. Every oily extract blocked the androgen receptor in lab cells by 50 to 90 percent. The water based extracts showed no effect at all.
How our packaging check scores a container against what it holds. Aluminium counts as plastic unless the maker says it is unlined, because the inside is coated with resin.
So a water based gel in a plastic bottle is fine, a lotion in one is a caution, and a butter or balm in one is the worst pairing of all. The catch is that a balm is also the one product that needs no preservative, because a preservative is only needed where there is water for microbes to live in. That is why most of our picks are all oil in a glass jar or steel tin. The exception is the one water based cream we found in glass.
Almost every lotion comes in plastic
Of the 37 lotions and creams made with water that we checked, from drugstore staples to natural brands, exactly one came in glass: Weleda's Skin Food Body Butter, which passes and is one of our picks below. Several clean formulas, fragrance free and short, were held at careful by their pump bottle or tub alone. Most makers do not even say which plastic they use. Where they do not, we treat it as the middle of the range rather than the best case.
Metal is not automatically the answer. Bare aluminium corrodes, so aluminium tubes, tins and bottles are coated inside with a resin, and the cream touches that coating rather than the metal. One brand selling its lotion in an aluminium bottle says in its FAQ that the liner is an epoxy phenolic resin. Another, whose cream comes in a famous metal tin, does not say whether the tin is lined at all. Steel tins and glass jars are the containers that hold up without a question.
If your skin does well on a balm, a butter in glass or steel removes the plastic question entirely and needs no preservative. You can check any lotion already on your shelf in Product Check.
What to read on the label
A lotion's ingredient list is printed in descending order, and a handful of names do nearly all the harm. Our formula check fails a product on any named hazard below and holds it at careful for an unnamed fragrance, which can hide hundreds of ingredients, phthalates among them historically. The other entries are worth knowing but do not decide a verdict on their own.
Unscented is not the same as fragrance free. A fragrance that names each essential oil it contains passes; a bare "fragrance" does not.
Two of these deserve a word. Methylisothiazolinone caused a wave of contact allergy across Europe, reaching 6 percent of patients patch tested in 2015, and the EU banned it from leave on products in 2017; it is still legal in American lotions. And diethanolamine, the DEA in many emulsifiers, is behind most of the California Proposition 65 notices filed on body lotions: 29 in 2024 alone, against drugstore and luxury brands alike.
Plastic in the formula itself
Many lotions also contain plastic as an ingredient: carbomer and acrylates crosspolymers to thicken them, and sometimes nylon or polyethylene powders for a silky feel. The US Microbead Free Waters Act of 2015 covers only rinse off products, so nothing in American law restricts plastic in a lotion. The EU's microplastics restriction will reach leave on cosmetics in October 2029, and even then dissolved polymers stay legal. We note these on every product we check. Polyethylene and nylon fail the formula check; the dissolved thickeners are noted rather than scored.
Tallow, shea and the natural balms
Tallow balm is the fastest growing body care product of the last few years, and the claims around it run ahead of the evidence. It is a simple, effective moisturizer with a long history, and a tallow balm with two or three ingredients needs no preservative. The claims about vitamins and matching your skin's own oils have not been measured in any finished balm.
There is one real question. Tallow is animal fat, and fat collects fat soluble pollutants. A 2024 Mamavation screen found phthalates in 8 of 13 tallow and suet products, at up to 922 parts per billion, almost all of them cooking tallows. The two skincare tallows it tested came back clean, though the screen published no detection limit, so that cannot be read as a pass. No lab has published a test of any branded tallow skin balm. Raw shea butter has its own open question, smoke residue from kernels roasted over wood fires, measured so far only in food samples.
How we vet body cream
- The full ingredient list, word for word. Read from the maker's page or the label photo. A fragrance passes only when each oil in it is named with its source.
- The container, against what it holds. A lotion in plastic is a caution. A butter or balm in plastic is a caution or a fail. Aluminium counts as its lining unless the maker says it is bare.
- Independent tests. None exists for any body product we checked, which we say on every one rather than treat as a pass.
- Lawsuits and recalls. Proposition 65 notices, class actions and the FDA, CPSC and Health Canada registers, confirmed against the company named on the record.
The picks
Every pick has a full ingredient list with nothing on our hazard list, sits in glass or steel, has no recall or lawsuit against it, and has a long record of owner reviews. Four are balms or butters with no water and so no preservative; the fifth is the one water based cream we found in glass. None has an independent lab test, because no lab has published one for any body product we checked.
Primally Pure Body Butter
Grass fed tallow whipped with mango, shea, coconut and olive oils, beeswax and arrowroot, scented only with named eucalyptus and lavender oils. No water, so no preservative. Glass jar.
View →
Hearth & Homestead Whipped Tallow Balm
Grass fed beef tallow and organic olive oil infused with calendula and rose. No water, no preservative, no added scent. Amber glass jar, in a small 1.3 ounce size.
View →
Badger Balm Unscented
Organic extra virgin olive oil and organic beeswax, nothing else. No water, no preservative, no scent. Steel tin. Sold as a hand balm, it works on any dry patch.
View →
Meow Meow Tweet Skin Cream
Shea and mango butters with sunflower, pumpkin seed, rosehip and tamanu oils and vitamin E. No water, no scent, no animal ingredients. Glass jar with a metal cap.
View →
Weleda Skin Food Body Butter
Whipped water based cream of sunflower oil, cocoa and shea butters with calendula, chamomile and pansy extracts. Every scent allergen named, from natural essential oils. Glass jar.
View →Primally Pure is the top pick because it is a true body size, with 4.8 stars on nearly 2,000 reviews on the brand's own site, and every scent in it is a named essential oil. Hearth & Homestead has by far the most owner reviews of any balm here, 4.6 stars on over 14,000 ratings, and no scent at all, but its jar is sized for hands and face. Badger's tin is the budget choice and the simplest list we found. Meow Meow Tweet is the pick if you avoid animal ingredients, with 4.7 stars on 118 reviews on the brand's site. Weleda is the one to choose if a balm feels too heavy: a lighter whipped cream, 4.6 stars on over 2,000 ratings, scented with essential oils.
If your skin needs a fragrance free lotion
Balms do not suit everyone, and Weleda's cream, the lighter pick above, is scented. Eczema prone and fragrance sensitive skin often does best on a plain water based cream, and every fragrance free lotion and cream we checked comes in plastic, so there is no clean pick here, only the best trade off. Vanicream Moisturizing Cream has the shortest fragrance free list of them, with nothing on our hazard list, and 4.6 stars on over 50,000 ratings. Careful: it comes in a plastic pump jar or tub whose resin the maker does not name, and as a cream it carries an oil phase. Keep it out of heat and buy the size you will finish.
The five picks are also in our store, in the bathroom section.
Every body product we checked
All 54 lotions, creams, butters and balms we researched, with the finding that decided each one. Where a brand sells products that differ, each has its own row.
| Product | Container | What decided it | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primally Pure Eucalyptus + Lavender Body Butter | Glass | Full list passes, oils named | |
| Hearth & Homestead Whipped Tallow Balm | Glass | Four ingredients, unscented | |
| Badger Balm Unscented | Steel | Two ingredients | |
| Meow Meow Tweet Skin Cream | Glass | Plant butters and oils, unscented | |
| Primally Pure Whipped and Blue Tansy Body Butters | Glass | Full lists pass, oils named | |
| Badger Balm and Belly Butter | Steel | Full lists pass, oils named | |
| Kate McLeod Daily, Unscented and Naked Stones | Cotton and paper | Full lists pass; weak, thin reviews | |
| Vanicream Moisturizing Cream | Plastic | Clean list, plastic jar; the lotion trade off | |
| Vanicream Moisturizing Lotion | Plastic | Clean list, plastic bottle | |
| CeraVe Moisturizing Cream and Daily Moisturizing Lotion | Plastic | Clean list, plastic jar and bottle | |
| Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream and Lotion | Plastic | Clean list, plastic jar and bottle | |
| Eucerin Advanced Repair Lotion and Original Healing Cream | Plastic | Clean list, plastic bottle and jar | |
| Necessaire The Body Lotion and The Body Cream | Plastic | Clean list, plastic tube and jar | |
| Aveeno Daily Moisturizing and Skin Relief lotions | Plastic | Clean list, plastic bottle | |
| Aveeno Eczema Therapy Daily Moisturizing Cream | Plastic | Lists benzalkonium chloride | |
| Gold Bond Healing Hydrating Lotion | Plastic | Unnamed fragrance, plastic bottle | |
| Gold Bond Healing Sensitive Lotion | Plastic | Lists cyclopentasiloxane | |
| Gold Bond Crepe Corrector | Plastic | Lists methylparaben | |
| Olay body lotions, three | Plastic | Unnamed fragrance, plastic bottle | |
| Jergens lotions, three | Plastic | Fragrance with no stated source, plastic bottle | |
| eos Shea Better lotions, scented and sensitive | Plastic | Plastic bottle; the scented one also unnamed fragrance | |
| NIVEA Creme, two tins and a jar | Aluminium, lining not stated, or plastic | Unnamed fragrance | |
| NIVEA Essentially Enriched Lotion | Plastic | Unnamed fragrance, plastic bottle | |
| Weleda Skin Food and Skin Food Body Lotion | Lined aluminium, plastic | A cream against a resin lining or plastic | |
| Weleda Skin Food Body Butter | Glass | Full list passes, scent from named essential oils | |
| Palmer's Cocoa Butter Lotion and Solid Jar | Plastic | Unnamed fragrance; a balm in a plastic jar | |
| Palmer's Firming Butter | Plastic | Open Proposition 65 notice for diethanolamine | |
| Plaine Products Body Lotion | Lined aluminium | Epoxy phenolic liner against a lotion | |
| Meow Meow Tweet All Over Lotion | Aluminium, lining not stated | A lotion against an unconfirmed lining | |
| Earth Mama Belly Butter | PET | A lotion in PET | |
| Earth Mama Organic All Over Balm | PET | A balm in PET | |
| Alaffia EveryDay Shea Lotion | PET | A lotion in PET | |
| Alaffia Pure and Whipped Shea Butters | Unnamed plastic | A butter in an unnamed plastic tub | |
| Aquaphor Healing Ointment, jar | Polypropylene | An ointment in plastic | |
| Aquaphor Healing Ointment, tube | Unnamed plastic | An ointment in an unnamed plastic tube |
The ones we did not pick
CeraVe, Cetaphil, Eucerin and Necessaire
Every one of these publishes a short, fragrance free list with nothing on our hazard list, and none was named in a recall or lawsuit over its moisturizers. CeraVe's benzene lawsuits concern only its benzoyl peroxide acne washes, not its creams. What holds them back is the container: a pump bottle, tube or tub whose plastic the maker does not name, against a cream that carries oil. One caution on Eucerin: its Amazon listing still shows an older Advanced Repair formula with cyclomethicone, and says either version may ship.
Aveeno and Gold Bond
Aveeno's fragrance free Daily Moisturizing and Skin Relief lotions have clean lists in plastic bottles, but its Eczema Therapy cream is preserved with benzalkonium chloride, a quaternary ammonium compound and known skin sensitizer, on a product sold for damaged skin. Gold Bond's Healing Sensitive lotion lists cyclopentasiloxane, a siloxane the EU is restricting in leave on cosmetics from 2027, and its Crepe Corrector lists methylparaben.
Olay, Jergens, eos and NIVEA
Each lists fragrance or parfum without saying which oils make it up. Jergens says it removed parabens in 2023, but Amazon still prints the older list with parabens and DMDM hydantoin. NIVEA's famous tin is aluminium, and Beiersdorf does not say whether it is lined. eos's fragrance free Sensitive lotion has a clean list in a plastic bottle.
Earth Mama, Alaffia, Aquaphor and Palmer's
These are the hardest case for packaging, an all oil product against plastic. Earth Mama's five ingredient All Over Balm is clean, but its own FAQ says the jar is PET. Alaffia's raw shea butters come in a tub whose plastic it does not name. Aquaphor's ointment is the same formula in a polypropylene jar and an unnamed plastic tube, and the tube fails. Palmer's solid cocoa butter jar is polypropylene; its Firming Butter also carries an open January 2026 Proposition 65 notice for diethanolamine.
Plaine Products Body Lotion
A refillable aluminium bottle looks like the plastic free choice, and the formula is clean, preserved with potassium sorbate, with every essential oil named. Plaine's own FAQ says the bottle has a cosmetic grade liner of epoxy phenolic resin, so the lotion touches resin, not metal. That is the same caution a plastic bottle gets.
Kate McLeod Body Stones
Solid lotion bars of cocoa butter and plant oils, wrapped in cotton and paper, with every scent named. On paper they are the most plastic free body product we found. On Amazon they have 1.0 stars on one rating, 2.7 on seven and 3.8 on 37, with one to three units in stock, which is too weak and too thin a record to recommend.
How to choose a body cream
- Balm or butter if your skin likes it. No water means no preservative, and a short list.
- Glass jar or steel tin. Aluminium only if the maker says it is unlined.
- Read for the four failing groups. Parabens, formaldehyde releasers, cyclic siloxanes and quat preservatives.
- Fragrance only if every oil is named. Unscented on the front does not mean fragrance free on the back.
- If you need a lotion, choose the shortest fragrance free list, buy a size you will finish, and keep it out of a hot bathroom or car.
- Patch test anything new on the inside of your arm for a few days, especially tallow and essential oils.
Frequently asked questions
What is the most non toxic body lotion?
The cleanest options are not pourable lotions but balms and butters with a short, fully named list in a glass jar or steel tin: Primally Pure Body Butter, Hearth and Homestead Whipped Tallow Balm, Badger Balm Unscented and Meow Meow Tweet Skin Cream. For a lighter water based cream, Weleda Skin Food Body Butter is the one we found in glass that passes.
Does lotion absorb chemicals from its plastic bottle?
The oil in it can. In a 2023 study, oily extracts from all 11 cosmetic packaging plastics tested blocked a hormone receptor in lab cells by 50 to 90 percent, while the water based extracts showed nothing. A lotion carries an oil phase, and a butter or balm is all oil, so the container matters more for a body cream than for a water based gel.
Which ingredients should I avoid in body lotion?
Parabens, formaldehyde releasers such as DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea and quaternium 15, cyclic siloxanes such as cyclopentasiloxane, quaternary ammonium preservatives such as benzalkonium chloride, and fragrance or parfum that does not name its oils. Methylisothiazolinone has been banned from European leave on products since 2017 and is still legal in the US.
Is tallow good for your skin?
It is an effective, simple moisturizer with a long history, and a tallow balm needs no preservative. The claims about vitamins and matching your skin's own oils are unmeasured. Tallow is animal fat, and a 2024 screen found phthalates in most cooking tallows, though the two skincare tallows it tested came back clean. No lab has tested a branded tallow skin balm with a stated detection limit.
Is CeraVe or Vanicream non toxic?
Both publish short, fragrance free ingredient lists with nothing on our hazard list. What holds them back is the plastic tub or pump bottle, because a cream carries an oil phase. If your skin needs a fragrance free water based cream, Vanicream Moisturizing Cream has the shortest list of the lotions we checked.
Is there a body lotion without plastic packaging?
Very few. Of 37 water based lotions and creams we checked, one came in glass, Weleda Skin Food Body Butter, and some brands that sell aluminium bottles or tins line them with a resin, so the cream touches plastic anyway. Balms and butters in glass jars or steel tins are the plastic free option, along with solid lotion bars wrapped in paper or cloth.